I've got a big problem with how America has grown to devalue their food. We know cows can't digest corn, yet we feed it to them anyway. We coat our farms with pesticides. We accept processed foods as "food". When did this become acceptable and ok?
I'm not here today to look at the history of food production in the U.S. and how the modern supermarket came to be and what it offers. That might be another blog post.

I am very careful and conscientious of what I feed my children. Their diet is heavy on fruits and vegetables, homemade meals, pizza maybe once a week. When I make mac 'n cheese, it is from scratch. I don't buy frozen meals; I make bulk batches of meals and freeze them for later use. Cookies and sweets are treats, not an everyday occurrence. I pack their school lunches. I would never feel comfortable giving my kids heavily processed foods.
I always rely on the phrase "if it's too good to be true, it probably is". The ultra-convenience of the processed foods we eat are convenient (sometimes), but at what cost? Diabetes is an epidemic in our country. Our sugar intake is off the charts. We are overweight. Where does it end?
Honestly, I don't venture to the middle of the grocery store very much. The middle is a haven for processed cereals, frozen foods, ready-made "dinners" (a la hamburger helper). I stay to the outer aisles, the "circle" of the store: produce, milks and yogurts, wine! The outer edges also tends to house a market's organic and natural food offerings, as well as bulk foods.
I would LOVE to hear where my readers are with the issue of food in our country. Is it an issue for you? Do you avoid processed foods? Are you aware of the danger's in some of our foods? What are your "weak areas" when veering off the healthy eating track?
















